St. Anne’s Church, Virajpet, was established in the year 1792, the same year in which the Virajpet town was founded  by the then ruler of Kodagu , Veerarajendra  Wodeyar (also called Doddaveeraraja) .

St Anne's Church

            The present St . Anne’s Educational  Institution  has a long history of more than 150 years .Even  though the church was started in 1792 till  1842 there was no school attached to the church . In 1842  the  French Missionary father J.M NEWNESS who believed that the integral development could be achieved  through the medium of education , started the lower  primary  school. Since there was English influence because of the British presence in the area . The medium of instruction was in English and the second language was Kannada.There were five class rooms built in the beginning. Then it was felt that true education should be in the known regional language. Therefore in 1901 Fr. J.Noronha was the correspondent is started Kannada medium school with 23 students . And in the  same  year the  primary  school  was registered. In  1945  Fr.I B Pinto  upgraded  the  school  to  Higher Primary. With  the  help and  cooperation of  then  chief  commissioner of  Kodagu  C.T. Mudaliar , Lt.Kernel Dayal Singh Bedi and district education officer B S Kushalappa year by year new sections were added.There were nealy 800 students in the year 1950. In  1944  inorder  to  share  the  responsibilities  both  in  the  church and in the  institutions  Rev.Fr. I B Pinto  invited  sisters of St.Jospeh’s of Tarpes. Thus a convent was started in the church campus. Sr.Annunciata was the first superior of the convent and also served as a mathematics teacher in the high school section. She also became the head mistress.

             So far the high school  section was only for girls. Therefore the  need was felt thus this facilities should extended to boys also . Thus in 1957  new class  rooms were built  infront of the church and  the girls high school was converted into Co-Ed school. In 1958 NCC was started and Mr.M.A Poovaiah was the first NCC officer.In the course of time Scouts, guides, bullbull wings were started. In 1962 all the independent  schools  run by  the churches  in Coorg  came under one  administration  of Mysore Diocese, under the registered society of MYSORE DIOCESEAN EDUCATION SOCIETY(M.D.E.S).